The Board of Directors of the India-Afghanistan Foundation (IAF)’s bi-annual meeting was held in Afghan Embassy’s premises in New Delhi on July 24, 2017.

The 10th Meeting of the IAF Board participated by Ambassador Abdali and his Indian counterpart in Afghanistan, Ambassador Manpreet Vohra, both of whom serve as the co-chairs of the board.

Other participants included, Prof. Abdul Ghafoor Liwal, Acting Minister of Border and Tribal Affairs-Afghanistan, Dr. Deepak Mittal, Joint Secretary PAI, Mr. Musa Arifi, Director First Political Division, Mr. Jayant Prasad, Director General IDSA, Mr. Noor Agha Noori, member, Lt-Gen Syed Ata Hasnain, member, Mr. Janesh Kain, Deputy Secretary PAI, Mr. Vasudev Ravi IAF Secretary Kabul chapter and Mr. Merwais Nazari, IAF Secretary Delhi Chapter.

At the outset, the IAF Board reviewed the progress made since the last meeting. The chairs of the meeting appreciated the current flow of the IAF activities and noted that the projects implemented with the support of IAF during the course of past six months have further strengthened the cultural and educational ties between the two nations.

During the meeting, the participants also discussed new projects proposed by the members including a number of initiatives on academic and cultural activities which were agreed by all the participants to be implemented.

It is worth mentioning that IAF is a trust fund setup by the Governments of India and Afghanistan which finances projects aimed at fostering India-Afghanistan relations through enhancement of Economic, Scientific, educational, Technical as well as cultural cooperation. Under the auspices of Government of India and the Government of Afghanistan, a Memorandum of Understanding was signed in April 2007, bringing into existence the India-Afghanistan Foundation. The management is under supervision of Board of Directors consisting 10 members and 2 secretaries who meets on biannual basis.

The meeting was ended deciding the next IAF board meeting which will be held in Kabul at the start of next year.


Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn